Ginger Cashew Chicken with Cabbage

Heya, friends! Please excuse my scarcity recently… I’ve had a month full of various injuries and illness flares along with a very good friend coming to the area from California, which meant that we got to visit with her this past week after only interacting with her online for the past five years. It’s all been exciting and also a bit tiring (mostly trying to simultaneously heal a knee injury along with a shoulder injury), and I’m working on getting back into the swing of things.

I have been craving “cashew cabbage something” for the past month or so. I saw a recipe that looked amazing, lost track of it, finally had all of the ingredients on hand and then couldn’t find the original recipe anywhere. So I kind of mashed bits of a few random recipes together and came up with this. Folks indicated that they were interested on my Facebook page, so I figured that I’d share. If you make it, I’d love to hear what you think!

Ginger Cashew Chicken with Cabbage

Ingredients:
1 pound chicken (I used frozen breasts)
oil (I used sunflower)
garlic & ginger pastes
1 cup cashews
1 medium head green cabbage
soy sauce

  1. 2015-08-23 Food-Ginger-Cashew-Chicken-01Begin by preheating a large frying pan over medium heat, with a few tablespoons of your oil of choice. Add 1.5 tablespoons ginger paste and 1 tablespoon garlic paste, along with about 1 pound frozen chicken breast.
  2. Add 1/2 cup hot water; cover and cook over medium heat for 20 minutes.
  3. Flip chicken; cover and cook for an additional 15 minutes, then set chicken aside and empty pan.
  4. 2015-08-23 Food-Ginger-Cashew-Chicken-02Heat a few tablespoons of oil over medium heat. Add cashews to the pan; cook, stirring, until they begin to soften.
  5. While cashews cook, shred cabbage and thinly slice your cooked chicken.
  6. Add 2 tablespoons ginger paste and 1 tablespoon garlic to oil and cashews.
  7. Return chicken to pan; add a splash of soy sauce. (Sorry, I’m an eyeballer and am not sure how much I used here.)
  8. 2015-08-23 Food-Ginger-Cashew-Chicken-03Continue cooking over medium heat. Whenever anything starts sticking to the pan, add a bit of water to deglaze.
  9. Add cabbage to pan. Cover and continue cooking over medium heat for 8 minutes or until cabbage is soft.

And that’s pretty much it! Serve and make some tummies happy.

I had to improvise and use less cabbage because my frying pan was a bit too small, but this meal is SO tasty, whatever your proportions! Next time, I plan to add more ginger and see how it turns out. Mushrooms would be another awesome add-in. These amounts should easily serve 4 or more, especially if you use the full head of cabbage.

The only lactose in my version of this was a bit of whey in the garlic paste (which we found pretty silly), and it’s relatively low in carbs and fat too! I calculated about 25 grams of carbs for 1/4 of the pan, and the fats in this recipe are mostly healthier ones.

I’ll have some more updates headed your way very soon! Please stay tuned as I start playing catch-up once again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

