Chicken Soup with Cabbage & Bean Sprouts (Veggie Stock, too!)

2015-04-13-Chicken-Cabbage-Sprout-Soup-2It’s been a while since I’ve shared a recipe here. I recently got experimental with chicken soup and really loved how it turned out, so I thought I’d share that with you. I’d love to hear what you think, especially if you actually end up making this or a variation of the recipe. 🙂

2015-04-06-Soup-Vegetable-Veggie-StockI started off by making a big batch of vegetable stock. I saved up veggie scraps for a while, and then threw a whole gallon freezer bag full of the scraps into my 6 quart slow cooker. I added some celery that was on its last legs, along with a handful of fresh parsley. (The veggie scraps were mostly carrot and onion, with assorted bits of stuff like cabbage, mushrooms, broccoli and potatoes.) I also added a chicken neck and liver that I had in the freezer, and then filled the pot most of the way with water.

I love using herbs like parsley that are good for cranky tummies, since hubby and I both have GERD and IBS. It makes it easier to digest some things that can be triggers for tummy woes, since we can’t just eat plain rice, toast and bananas all day every day.

This pot of awesome cooked on high for five hours, and then strained it. Since I don’t have a fine strainer, I just put a coffee filter into a small colander and ladled very carefully. I ended up with almost three quarts of vegetable stock. If I’d had more time and spoons that day, I’d planned to roast the veggies first, which does add flavor to the stock — but it definitely packed some flavor and nutrition as-is.

________________________________________________________________________________

So now it’s time to get crackin’ on the actual soup! I gave my crock a quick scrub and filled it right back up with the following…

2015-04-13-Chicken-Cabbage-Sprout-Soup-1

First, I cut up about 2.5 pounds of chicken breast and piled that up in the bottom of the crock.

Next, I added half a small head of cabbage, sliced into strips.

I followed that with a small onion and four medium carrots, chopped/sliced.

I filled the rest of the pot with mung bean sprouts (about half of a 12 ounce bag), spinach (a few big handfuls) and another handful of chopped fresh parsley.

Finally, I added about 1.5 quarts of my veggie stock, and filled the pot most of the rest of the way with water.

2015-04-13-Chicken-Cabbage-Sprout-Soup-3The soup also cooked for five hours on high. When the soup was almost done and the chicken was thoroughly cooked, I added chicken bouillon. I didn’t really measure, but did this to taste. If you aren’t a free spirit in the kitchen, you might want to try half and half veggie and chicken stock to begin with, or start with a teaspoon of powdered bouillon or Better than Bouillon, and add more by the 1/4 or 1/2 teaspoon until you’re happy with it.

The finished soup is hearty and delicious, with just a bit of crunch to it. (And if you’re like us and you enjoy cabbage but have tummy issues, you might want to try pre-dosing with simethicone or alpha-galactosidase in order to avoid any potential discomfort. I’m not offering medical advice here, just speaking from personal experience, and I’ve been surprised how many people are not aware of these super-useful enzymes.)

We ate this over rice with Himalayan pink salt and black pepper to taste, and we loved it! If you decide to try this recipe, I hope that you love it as well.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Mar 20, 2016 @ 09:15:12

    Well I just made this and its in my crock pot so I will let u know how it turns out

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

