Ask Bri: Ghosts, reincarnation, Leslie Feinberg, playing favorites & more!

Hey, friends! I had a few minutes, so I thought I’d finish up this Q&A post I’ve had in the making for a while. I also wanted to remind you about my Halloween/Samhain giveaway, which is open worldwide and closes in a few hours. I’ll be starting my autumn-themed giveaway as soon as possible, once this one ends.

I’m still offering 30% off everything in my shop while I work on raising funds to get new glasses, and have temporarily opened custom orders to help with this, since being able to see is so crucial to being able to work. If you’re able to take advantage of this deal or help spread the word to friends who you think would enjoy my work, I would appreciate that so much!

As always, feel free to leave your feedback in response to this post — or questions to be considered for future posts — in the comments. Thanks so much for your time and attention! 🙂

Now, on to your questions…

Q: Do you believe in ghosts?

A: I do! I have had many first-hand experiences with spirits. As an adult, my mother told me in detail about how the “imaginary friends” I remembered from childhood were actually spirits who had haunted one of our apartments.

As an adult, I reached out to a confused spirit hanging around a friend’s home and convinced him that it was time to move on to the next world. This experience was my first taste of empathy as a psychic gift; as soon as I encountered this spirit’s energy, I burst into tears and didn’t logically know why, but I instantly had such an immense, protective love for him after feeling the pain he’d experienced.

I also communicate regularly with my ancestors and spirits of departed friends; the method varies and is sometimes more abstract, other times more direct… But I have no doubt that they are actually there. This picture was taken on a walk when hubby and I first arrived in TN in the summer of 2012. Check out the face in the upper right corner! We didn’t notice him sniffing the flowers until after the image was enlarged; it hasn’t been edited at all.

Q: Do you believe in reincarnation, and have you had any past life experiences?

I do believe in reincarnation. I think that our souls keep coming back to this world until we have had the experiences we need to have in order to become further enlightened, and to help others to learn and grow. I have had visions, trance experiences and readings that make me 100% certain that my hubby and I have moved through this world together for many, many lives. I believe that Brighid has also followed us through those lives.

Q: If you could speak to one author, living or dead, with whom would you converse and what would you want to speak about?

A: I’ve always had a huge admiration for transgender author and activist Leslie Feinberg, who wrote one of my favorite novels ever (Stone Butch Blues) and helped me to have a decent grasp of non-binary gender as a young queer woman. I admire hir bravery in speaking and writing about these “taboo” things that people didn’t — and still often don’t — speak or write about much, especially so loudly and unashamedly.  I know that we share the view that people who are oppressed on different levels should be supporting one another, rather than compartmentalizing and judging one another; I imagine that would factor into the conversation. I’d also love to tell Leslie how much hir books have meant to me, how much they helped shape my understanding of parts of the world as a young queer woman — and eventually helped to shape the person that I am today, not to mention that it helped provide me with the tools I needed to be the best possible cheerleader for the amazing, brave transman who is my husband.

Q: What is your favorite piece you have made to date?

A: I get questions like this a lot, but I’ve probably made about 1,500 pieces of jewelry over the past few years, and it’s a terribly difficult question for me to answer. All of my creations are like my babies; it can be especially hard to let some of them go, but I put so much love and energy into every single piece that it almost feels wrong to declare favorites. With that being said, I can say that this piece has been calling to me; I’ve been repeatedly tempted to hang onto it, but haven’t given in to that temptation yet. 😉

Q:  What would you say has been the best part of your journey to get to the Pacific Northwest?

A: I think that the biggest thing has been working our way from having nothing to forging relative stability in our daily lives. We never expect to be wealthy by any means, and we’re okay with that. But being in a place where we have this stability after being destitute and constantly on the verge of homelessness for a few years has just felt amazing. I also consider myself blessed every day that I get to interact with all of the amazing people who I consider part of the Baubles & Blessings family. I have made amazing friends. I have heard from people that the talismans, devotional jewelry and energy work that I have done for them have helped make wonderful things happen in their lives, and hearing these things almost always brings tears of joy to my eyes. You all help fill my heart on a daily basis, and I couldn’t imagine my life without you.

Q: Do you incorporate items sent to you into the pieces that you make?

A: Absolutely! When I am taking custom orders, I am more than happy to work on jewelry makeovers, incorporate a pendant that you already own into a beaded piece, etc. 🙂

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda M. Crate
    Oct 13, 2014 @ 20:58:55

    Lovely! 🙂 That photo is eerie. I once had someone tell me I have a very calming energy and that it would be particularly good for channeling spirits as they are drawn to people like me, but I don’t do that sort of thing. It’s kind of eerie. I would only want to invite good spirits in and not the bad, but I have no experience with these sorts of things so I just hope they leave me alone.

    I believe that they are there, though. I know when I lived at home I used to have horrific nightmares that woke me up in a cold sweat and they were so terrifying and grotesque that it made me think something horrible must have happened in that room—my suspicions were confirmed when my mother said she had horrible dreams in that room, too, and she refuses to sleep there. (Thanks, mum, you let me sleep there for years. :P)

    I think I had an encounter with a poltergeist once, too. It was when I was a teenager and a lady I talked to said that’s quite common. She said they sometimes appear when people are angry or upset and I was a very angsty teenager to that makes sense to me.

    I really love that you do these Q and A’s. I love learning more about you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  2. huskyfrompluto
    Oct 19, 2014 @ 15:34:31

    Entered your contest, but I wanted you to have my questions here to answer:
    What’s your favourite season & why?
    What is your least favourite thing about making jewelry and being your own boss?
    What is your favourite thing about making jewelry and being your own boss?

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

