Ask Bri: Creativity, organization, weird requests & more!

gettingtoknowyouI’ve been meaning to actually write here on the blog more often, but I’ve just been so busy with our relocation-related endeavors and jewelry  that it’s harder and harder to focus my ADD-riddled brain these days. These bite-sized bits seem like they’re easier for me AND interesting for you, so I’m going to keep doing them until I stop getting questions. I actually started working on this post last week, but with all of the frenzy around my auction that ended last night, this is the first opportunity I’ve had to wrap the post up. Please ask whatever questions you might have here on WordPress or via Facebook, and I’ll most likely respond in a future post.

I know that lots of you are dying to hear about the success of the auction, and it means so much to us that you’re so invested in the progress that we’re making! There are still a few unpaid items, but as soon as those are taken care of and I have time to sit and crunch the numbers, I’ll post an update similar to last month’s.

Without further ado, onto the questions…

My daughter has been her artsy self since she first picked up a crayon and is now 11. She paints, draws, writes music and loves customizing dolls. How can you organize stuff so it’s not all over the house? Since her creative mind is so consumed by these amazing things she creates, have you felt more drawn to one type of medium over another or will she more than likely have many projects to work on? I love all these ways she has found to express herself. It’s the constant messes she makes that drive me bonkers!!

First, congrats on having an awesomely creative kiddo! 🙂 I have to admit that I can be messy myself, partially because I have limited spoons/energy on a daily basis, but also because I’d really rather just do something about my inspiration and work on projects.

When we were doing spring cleaning, I posted this pic of my storage/work area. In our current living space, which is a motel room, we don’t have much furniture. Because we’re planning to move, we haven’t wanted to spend much money buying things for organization, so my method has the benefit of being very inexpensive. I organize supplies into labeled quart-sized zipper bags, which are then placed into 6-quart plastic shoeboxes, which I purchased for $1 each. The contents of each box are written on the end on tape; masking tape works well. I’ll probably keep doing something similar in the future, but I’d like to figure out a way to make it easier to get into each box without having to unbury the ones that are on the bottom. Maybe shelves so that the bins don’t have to be stacked.

In my experience, it’s not rare for creative folks to dabble with different kinds of mediums and styles, but everyone’s an individual, so it’s kind of impossible to predict how many different crafts/disciplines your daughter might end up favoring. As for me, I’ve dabbled lots over the years, but I pretty much stick to jewelry and occasional painting these days. Good luck to you and your daughter!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESWhat’s the weirdest thing you’ve made? What’s the weirdest request you’ve received for an order?

I can’t think of anything I’ve made that was all that strange. I guess that some folks were pretty weirded out by the scorpion pendant on this piece. The response was fairly polarized, between people thinking it was awesome and being creeped out. I am a Scorpio and I embrace my inner scorpion, but that doesn’t mean I’d be okay with hanging out with them in my space! For some reason, the scorpion in the pendant just didn’t bother me, and I was actually tempted to keep the piece for myself when it took a long time to sell.

As far as the weirdest request I’ve ever gotten, I think that would have to be Blarney Stone. I actually had someone request a necklace featuring a vial filled with chips of the Blarney Stone. I have no idea why she thought this might be an option, but I never heard from her again after pointing out that it was not actually possible to buy pieces of the famous stone.

What advice do you have for people looking to integrate a creative pursuit, such as drawing, knitting, or beading, into their spiritual practice? I’m interested in knitting as an offering to Freyja and Sunna, but I’m not really sure where to start.

BrighidCordIn my mind, intent is the most important thing when giving energy as an offering. For me, it’s all about mindfulness and intention, keeping Brighid (and sometimes other deities with whom I work) in my heart and mind. I will often include elements in the pieces that relate to the deities or spirits I’m working with, but that’s not always the case. It may help to have a prayer or mantra that you use to help you get in the right frame of mind. One simple prayer that I use a lot is the one in the image at left. I use it as part of my “rosary” for Brighid, and I also repeat it as a mantra at times. Sometimes ritual is helpful, as well — I always have large candles burning for Brighid, but will also often light votive candles or a handful of tealights before starting a beading session. I know that these are super basic tips, but I hope that they are helpful!

What kinds of activities do you enjoy when you’re not working on jewelry?

I love to read! A sweet friend sent us her old Kindle over the winter, which has been really exciting because we didn’t want to collect a bunch of books we couldn’t take with us when we move; transportation issues have prevented us from using the library here; and I spend so much of my time hunched over a computer with business-related stuff that I want to be able to get away from the laptop when I’m relaxing. I also really love cooking and baking, so I’m very much looking forward to having a real kitchen again once we relocate and find a long-term place to live. I’m intrigued by fiber arts and have been contemplating taking an introductory weaving class, or learning how to knit, once we’re settled. I just have no idea whether I’ll be any good at that, or whether I’ll enjoy it at all. Another thing we’re really looking forward to is inviting animal friends to share our home again once we’re settled and have stability. We’re hoping to be in a position to start working with an animal rescue as a foster home within a year or two, though I don’t know if that exactly counts as an activity. I can’t think of anything else at the moment, other than spending time with hubby, writing — which I haven’t done much of since my brain’s gotten so foggy so much of the time — and spiritual pursuits.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda M. Crate
    Sep 11, 2014 @ 00:20:06

    It’s so cool to learn more about you, Bri. I, too, love to cook and bake but working my job and making other people food is making me a bit meh on the cooking side of things now – and I hope you do get to move soon! I understand what it’s like to be heartsick for somewhere new. It’s where I’m at now, but I don’t have a means to escape and a part of me feels guilty because I disappeared for a year without warning to Maine.

    I wanted so badly to have an adventure that I didn’t think of the consequences of hurting family and friends and things have changed here because of it.

    Ah, well, enough about me. Sorry, I tend to ramble. (As if you haven’t realized this about me already. Being terse is sometimes hard for me, but I sometimes employ it if I feel I’m getting too wordy.)

    I wish you luck in your future endeavors! I love animals so I can understand your longing to have one. I might have to sneak a kitten into mine (landlord says no pets), but I keep seeing everyone’s cute kitties and I’m like ‘no fair’! Hehe.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Baubles & Blessings
      Sep 11, 2014 @ 04:40:31

      Thanks for reading, caring and commenting, sweetheart! You’re welcome to ramble here… I certainly have a tendency to do it myself, and it’s nice to get to know you, too.

      Roots are important, but so is freedom and making your soul happy. I hope that you can find a good balance that keeps you — and those you hold dear — happy! Much love and many blessings to you, sweetie.

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Linda M. Crate
        Sep 12, 2014 @ 00:58:36

        Of course! You’re a sweetheart, and I really wish I could help you more, but just not in the position to order tons of pretty things right now – so I’ll drool over them instead. Hehe.

        Thank you, I hope to, as well. I do love my friends and family, but I need to fly. I am a raven – loner, intelligent (too much so for some of the people I talk to, it seems “Linda uses big words she shouldn’t use at Country Fair.” I’m an English-Lit major for crying out loud!), problem solver, a little mischievous sometimes but only in a playful way, quiet, anti-social. I like my solitude and to write and enjoy nature on my own terms, and the occasional haunt with people. But people drain me in large doses and small doses if they’re toxic. I need more me time than most people I guess because everyone seems to think I’m mad. Then again, the best people are, so maybe I should take it as a compliment. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

  2. rosemary1987
    Sep 12, 2014 @ 09:45:26

    Bri, may I borrow your creativity prayer to begin my own knitting work? I don’t want to feel guilty using it, and I won’t unless I have your blessing. 🙂

    Great post.

    Love and blessings,
    Rosemary/Victoria

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

