GLBTQI Rights Around the World

Lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender rights around the world, theguardian.com

Lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender rights around the world, theguardian.com

I visited Romania in early 2006. At the time, when we were researching, my then-husband (who identified as a straight cisgendered man) horrified me by telling me that, had I been part of a non-straight-appearing couple, I could have been jailed for appearing queer in public. I just did a bit of fact-checking and discovered that homosexuality was actually decriminalized in 1996, 10 years before our visit…

It’s still amazing to me that a country in which it only became legal to be outwardly GLBTQI less than 20 years ago, people now have more legal protection than we do in most parts of the United States.

Click on the image to be taken to the interactive chart where you can see exactly which countries have which protections in place for GLBTQI folks.

Leave a Reply

