Easy Crock Pot Beer Brats & Mushrooms

I posted this recipe previously, with potatoes instead of mushrooms. But I have a new camera, a much better photo, and it’s been a while… So I’m sharing it again. 🙂

This is an incredibly easy meal to make in your slow cooker, so I thought I’d share. Purists and food snobs will hate this recipe because it takes shortcuts, but that’s kind of the point — making it easier to make things more or less from scratch. Like me and hubby, I know a lot of others deal with chronic health issues, especially pain and fatigue, which make it difficult to do things like cook from scratch. So my aim is to share what I find that works and makes it easier for me to cook from scratch with limited spoons – along with a makeshift kitchen and limited access to very fresh food, in our case.

* Easy-Peasy Slow Cooker Beer Brats & Potatoes *

I have a 3-qt slow cooker. For this recipe, I used the following:

~ 2 packages bratwurst (10 sausages)
~ 2 dry pints mushrooms, sliced
~ approximately 1 cup of beer
~ minced garlic (jarred is easy, fresh tastes better)
~ minced onion (dried is easy, fresh tastes better)

1. Line the inside of the crock with the sausages; after the first layer, there was just enough room for 3 on each tier. When I was done, it kind of looked like a sausage turret. 

2. Put your minced garlic in the bottom of the crock, according to your preferences. We love garlic; I used 2 tablespoons or so.

3. Fill the pot with your mushrooms.

4. Add minced onion over the top, to suit your preference. I used dried, a few healthy shakes.

5. Pour beer over everything in the pot. Cover and cook on high for approximately 4 hours. When sausage is done, it is incredibly tender and delicious. If you want it browned like when cooked on the grill or stovetop, you can quickly brown the brats before adding them to the pot, but that kind of the defeats the point of quick and easy.

Leave a Reply

