FAQ: Clearing Negative Energy {My Quickie Answer}

AltarSage

I have folks get in touch very frequently to ask me if I can advise them on how to get rid of negative energy attached to themselves, in their homes, etc. Unfortunately, I usually don’t have the time or energy for much in the way of personal advice other than to recommend gemstones that I can incorporate into jewelry (obsidian and onyx are usually the first that come to mind)… But what I can do until I have time to write an article, is recommend that you try using sage for smoke cleansing.

(To avoid confusion, since this is geared toward newbies… Smoke cleansing is what’s commonly referred to as smudging. Some folks believe that use of the term “smudging” should be limited to indigenous people and the way that they perform traditional smoke cleansing rituals, so I’ve tried to get myself in the habit of using the term “smoke cleansing,” because I’m not looking to offend anyone or appropriating anyone else’s culture. However, I am human and frequently deal with intense brain fog, so I apologize in advance if I ever slip. It has nothing to do with lack of respect.)

This link leads to the sage bundles that hubby and I personally use on a daily basis. They’re huge, currently $7.99 for TWO thick, 9″ long bundles, and they really go a long way. (They are much thicker than the one shown in this old altar pic.) Our living space is really just one room, which makes a difference, but we purchased our last package in September and just started using the second bundle.

If you haven’t used smoke for cleansing before, here’s a basic article that I like, from the perspective of an average non-witchy, non-indigenous person. Obviously it’s different if you closely follow a specific tradition, but I fully agree with what she has to say about your intentions and confidence being more important than your specific method. Of course, if you’re part of a specific tradition, there is probably information readily available to you about how else you might go about cleansing your space.

A few other brief suggestions include salt water, chanting, singing, bell ringing, incense and physical cleaning of your space.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. butterflyconfetti
    Feb 16, 2014 @ 23:39:14

    Some really good information! It’s good to read that intent is key. So many things make it seem so complicated, like I might do it wrong.

    Like

    Reply

    • Baubles & Blessings
      Feb 17, 2014 @ 00:40:09

      I’m sorry that you’ve had that experience, hon. I think that a lot of people like to make things more complicated than they need to be. If you’re not trying to be a full-on practitioner of reconstructed traditional ritual practice, it’s my belief that your heart is at least as good and valuable a guide as any text or person, as long as you’re actually listening to it. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

