Magic Art: Owl in Rowan Tree

Rowan&Owl

Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ Magic Art: Owl in Rowan Tree Ƹ̴Ӂ̴Ʒ

So I’m a big fan of using art in spells/energy work, and I thought I’d share a project that I did a while ago. Perhaps this will inspire some of you. 

First I painted my little hill using plain ol’ green paint. I added the tree in brown; one of the most important parts of this piece for me was the tree roots forming the shape of the heart. Part of my intention for this project was to reinforce that my love — the love that I share with those dear to me, with Brighid, and the love that I share through my work — grounds me and gives me roots, even though I have been in a transitional period and not had a home for several years.

The branches of the tree, barely visible through the foliage, form the shapes of various Runes for protection, success, healing, joy and love. I added the owl to represent wisdom and to help me interpret messages from the divine.

When I finished the rest of the painting, I added the gold background and used gold mixed into the other colors to create highlights and texture throughout the tree and the hill upon which it sits. The gold is Brighid’s glow, the sun and riches of all kinds, not necessarily financial.

I made this a rowan tree primarily because rowan is sacred to Brighid; it is also used for protection and to manifest and enhance magic.

Red is a color of love and protection, while brown repels negativity. Green and gold draw abundance, and green is also a color of healing.

All of these components have additional uses and meanings; I’m just sharing why I chose them for my painting. I hope this has been of interest or help to some of you!  I’d love to hear what you think or have you share your own art/magic.

Leave a Reply

